Leapfrog Announces Kentucky’s Spring 2023 Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades

Share this post:

Congratulations to the four Kentucky hospitals who scored an “A” on the Leapfrog Group spring 2023 Hospital Safety Grade release. The Leapfrog Group is a national nonprofit representing hundreds of the nation’s most influential employers and purchasers of healthcare.

Find out how your hospital stacks up against others on #patientsafety at www.hospitalsafetygrade.org

The independent grading system assigns an “A,” “B,” “C,” “D,” or “F” grade to all general hospitals across the U.S. based on over 30 national performance measures reflecting errors, accidents, injuries, and infections, as well as systems that the hospitals have in place to prevent harm. The Kentuckiana Health Collaborative is the Regional Leader for the Leapfrog Group in Kentucky.

In Kentucky, 63 hospitals were graded in the Spring reporting. Four earned an “A,” 15 earned a “B,” 32 earned a “C,” 11 earned a “D,” and one earned an “F.”

Hospitals earning an “A” grade are:
*hospitals who have received an “A” grade for multiple years

  • Baptist Health Lexington*
  • Clark Regional Medical Center
  • Medical Center at Bowling Green
  • St. Elizabeth Healthcare – Ft. Thomas*

Hospitals earning a “B” grade are:

  • Norton Audobon Hospital
  • St. Elizabeth Healthcare – Edgewood
  • AdventHealth Manchester
  • St. Elizabeth Healthcare – Florence
  • Deaconess Henderson Hospital
  • Norton Hospital
  • Norton Brownsboro Hospital
  • Norton Women’s & Children’s Hospital
  • Meadowview Regional Medical Center
  • King’s Daughters Medical Center
  • Spring View Hospital
  • UofL Health Shelbyville Hospital
  • Owensboro Health Muhlenberg Community Hospital
  • Baptist Health Louisville
  • Three Rivers Medical Center

    In 2023, Kentucky ranked 46th among states with 6% of hospitals receiving an “A” rating. That is down from the 2022 ranking of 35th with 20% of graded hospitals receiving an “A” grade. One hospital, Medical Center at Bowling Green, moved from a “C” hospital to an “A” hospital. Three hospitals moved from a “C” to a “B” hospital and overall, Seven hospitals improved their safety grade.

    The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade is the only hospital ratings program based exclusively on hospital prevention of medical errors and harm to patients. The grading system is peer-reviewed, fully transparent, and free to the public. Grades are updated biannually in the fall and in the spring.

    Leave a Reply

    Related Posts